Coolidor project - need a little help

Started by kxthor911, 06/10/2014 06:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kxthor911

Ok first off I'm at work as usual so typing this on my phone. So forgive me if grammar isn't perfect. 

Ok so here is what I want to do. Just bought a new 165 quart cool that I want to turn into a mini tower. I'm going to using cedar planks to build shelves with legs on the bottom that will stand on the shelf below (I can attach a picture tonight when home if needed). The way I'm going to build the shelves they will have natural slats in them for air movement. I'm going to use Spanish cedar for all the planks. 

Now question one is I want some 2 inch by 2 inch boards under the cedar for support and I also want to use the same stuff for the legs. So what type of material can I use for this?

Now for question two. I am not a wood worker by trade and do not know how to do the wood working tongue and groove system. So what type of screws or paneling nails can I use for this project. My first two guesses would be small stainless steel or brass screws?

I will be updating this thread as I do the build. Cooler came in last night and I'm getting excited. Thanks for the help guys. 

Hello my name is Nick and I just bought a box of... (courtesy of Stephen and Rob(serious cigars))

Yes its fast, no you cant drive it.

gitfiddl

A good while back (maybe a couple of years) there was thread here about a guy who made shelves, trays, and drawers for various brands of coolers.  It would take more searching than I can do right now to find it, but the pics posted there might give you some ideas.

Self-appointed Guru of Pass Container Sizing,  All Things Midgetly Stripperish, and general "Stirrer of the Puddin'".

kxthor911

Yea that's golfnut or forest. I have bought from him once. I'm doing it myself this time though. He does the tongue and grove style.
Hello my name is Nick and I just bought a box of... (courtesy of Stephen and Rob(serious cigars))

kxthor911