New Cigar Enthusiast

Started by tdies, 01/24/2015 11:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tdies

I've tried cigars before and woke up the next day looking for a cheese grater to get the taste off my tongue!  However, on a recent trip to Key West, I stumbled (literally) into the Island Cigar Factory.  I chatted with the very kind Russian girl about my displeasure of many cigar tastes.  She recommended a few mild smokes for me.  I fell in love with one in particular.  It is a petite corona (Keep in mind, I'm new to the cigar world, so I may not be using the correct terminology - feel free to correct me so I can learn).  The cigar was a Cuban leaf cigar, 5" long, and about the size of a dime in diameter.  My wife went back the next day and surprised me by purchasing 7 more of them for me.  Cost was $45 for the 7.  Unfortunately, I don't know much else about the cigar and if it has a particular name, brand or which specific country the leaves came from...but wish I had more, or knew where to find something similar.  I've also read some reviews and understand the Island Cigar Factory is a bit pricey - makes sense because it is located right where cruise ships disembark.

Any guidance for a newbie is always appreciated.

Cheers,
Tommy

ntanner

Welcome to CG from New Mexico. Hang around here a while and you'll definitely learn about cigars, not to mention you're collection will grow.
I am not concerned about what you think as I can tell you don't do it often.

I used to be a people person, but then people ruined that for me.

Every loaf of bread is a tragic story of a group of grains that could have become beer but didn't.

05Venturer

Kent
 Guru of Cynicism & Cigars

"Pump the brakes; you take your shirt off but leave your sunglasses on?" "What sort of backwards !@#$ing pageantry is that?" "You going to fight with those shades or play pokerstars.com?"

dwig

Welcome to the site from OK.