CIGAR RESOURCES
 
HOME
CIGAR DATABASE
CIGAR REVIEWS
CIGAR PASSES
CIGAR PLACES
CIGAR NEWS
MY HUMIDOR
FORUMS
CALENDARS
ARTICLES
CIGAR SIZER
PHOTO ALBUMS
QUOTES
SITE LINKS
SHOPPING
 
SITE RESOURCES
 
ARCADE
LOGON
MEMBERS LIST
HUMIDORS
SEARCH FORUMS
SEARCH CIGARS
SEARCH REVIEWS
POINTS SYSTEM
 
ABOUT US
 
WHO WE ARE?
CONTACT US
ADVERTISE
 
RSS FEEDS
 
FORUMS
REVIEWS
 
SPONSORS









You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )


Random quote: "I pledged myself to smoke but one cigar a day. I kept the cigar waiting until bedtime, then I had a luxurious time with it. But desire persecuted me every day and all day long. I found myself hunting for larger cigars...within the month my cigar had grown to such proportions I could have used it as a crutch." - Mark Twain
- (Added by: hebron)



Help!
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Cigar Geeks Site -> Cigar Geeks iPhone/iPad AppMessage format
 
MacMac
Posted 10/27/2015 5:11 PM (#608504)
Subject: Help!



Expert

Joined: 2/20/2015

Posts: 2023
2000

Points: 3748
2000100050010010025
Feedback Rating: 23
Location: Lake Gaston, VA

Badges:
my virtual humidor is not syncing correctly. Cigars I add via my iPad are syncing into the virtual humidor, but the cigars I mark as smoked are not moving out of the curtent inventory. My iPad has the correct info. How can I make the virtual humidor update correctly?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
bmac7754
Posted 10/27/2015 5:31 PM (#608508 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!



Guru

Joined: 12/31/2011

Posts: 6755
500010005001001002525

Points: 17345
500050005000200010010010025
Feedback Rating: 201
Location: Massachusetts

Badges:
Joe I might not be any help here but after clicking "smoke one" are you hitting the back button or just closing it out. I hit the back button on my ipad and then re-sync and it seems to be working just fine. Also what I found to be an issue before is I wasn't downloading the updated cigar database which was screwing this up.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
MacMac
Posted 10/27/2015 7:14 PM (#608537 - in reply to #608508)
Subject: Re: Help!



Expert

Joined: 2/20/2015

Posts: 2023
2000

Points: 3748
2000100050010010025
Feedback Rating: 23
Location: Lake Gaston, VA

Badges:

Hi Brian, I'm not sure of my steps, but I have a big mess right now. The difference in the two versions is significant. I hope there is a way for me to overwrite the virtual version with the iPad version. If not, I guess i'll have to go in and "fix" the virtual version and then overwrite the iPad version.

I wonder what would happen if I deleated the virtual version and the synced the iPad version...??

Maybe SeñorPablo can give some advice! 

Joe 

 

Top of the page Bottom of the page
bmac7754
Posted 10/27/2015 7:35 PM (#608544 - in reply to #608537)
Subject: Re: Help!



Guru

Joined: 12/31/2011

Posts: 6755
500010005001001002525

Points: 17345
500050005000200010010010025
Feedback Rating: 201
Location: Massachusetts

Badges:
MacMac - 10/27/2015 11:14 PM

Hi Brian, I'm not sure of my steps, but I have a big mess right now. The difference in the two versions is significant. I hope there is a way for me to overwrite the virtual version with the iPad version. If not, I guess i'll have to go in and "fix" the virtual version and then overwrite the iPad version.

I wonder what would happen if I deleated the virtual version and the synced the iPad version...??

Maybe SeñorPablo can give some advice! 

Joe 

 

 Joe, before you make a mess try sending him a PM.  I think he can back you up figure out what is happening. He will apply some of his geek wizardry 

Top of the page Bottom of the page
MacMac
Posted 10/27/2015 7:51 PM (#608548 - in reply to #608544)
Subject: Re: Help!



Expert

Joined: 2/20/2015

Posts: 2023
2000

Points: 3748
2000100050010010025
Feedback Rating: 23
Location: Lake Gaston, VA

Badges:
bmac7754 - 10/27/2015 11:35 PM
MacMac - 10/27/2015 11:14 PM

Hi Brian, I'm not sure of my steps, but I have a big mess right now. The difference in the two versions is significant. I hope there is a way for me to overwrite the virtual version with the iPad version. If not, I guess i'll have to go in and "fix" the virtual version and then overwrite the iPad version.

I wonder what would happen if I deleated the virtual version and the synced the iPad version...??

Maybe SeñorPablo can give some advice! 

Joe 

 

 Joe, before you make a mess try sending him a PM.  I think he can back you up figure out what is happening. He will apply some of his geek wizardry 

Thanks Brian, I'll do that! 

Top of the page Bottom of the page
SenorPablo
Posted 10/28/2015 3:44 AM (#608587 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!



Elite Expert

Joined: 3/17/2005

Posts: 5969
50005001001001001002525

Points: 9534
50002000200050025
Feedback Rating: 34
Location: Maryland

Badges:
Hey Joe. Let me take a closer look into this. I'll send you a PM.

-Paul
Top of the page Bottom of the page
MacMac
Posted 10/28/2015 4:33 PM (#608737 - in reply to #608587)
Subject: Re: Help!



Expert

Joined: 2/20/2015

Posts: 2023
2000

Points: 3748
2000100050010010025
Feedback Rating: 23
Location: Lake Gaston, VA

Badges:
SenorPablo - 10/28/2015 7:44 AM

Hey Joe. Let me take a closer look into this. I'll send you a PM.

-Paul


The humidor sync is all taken care of. Thanks Paul!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
bmac7754
Posted 10/28/2015 4:45 PM (#608739 - in reply to #608737)
Subject: Re: Help!



Guru

Joined: 12/31/2011

Posts: 6755
500010005001001002525

Points: 17345
500050005000200010010010025
Feedback Rating: 201
Location: Massachusetts

Badges:

MacMac - 10/28/2015 8:33 PM
SenorPablo - 10/28/2015 7:44 AM

Hey Joe. Let me take a closer look into this. I'll send you a PM.

-Paul


The humidor sync is all taken care of. Thanks Paul!

 Paul comes thru again.  So what was it, just in case we see this happen to somebody.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
MacMac
Posted 10/28/2015 5:20 PM (#608756 - in reply to #608739)
Subject: Re: Help!



Expert

Joined: 2/20/2015

Posts: 2023
2000

Points: 3748
2000100050010010025
Feedback Rating: 23
Location: Lake Gaston, VA

Badges:
bmac7754 - 10/28/2015 8:45 PM

MacMac - 10/28/2015 8:33 PM
SenorPablo - 10/28/2015 7:44 AM

Hey Joe. Let me take a closer look into this. I'll send you a PM.

-Paul


The humidor sync is all taken care of. Thanks Paul!

 Paul comes thru again.  So what was it, just in case we see this happen to somebody.



We're not sure what caused it but two back to back full syncs (not overwrites) fixed it.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
SenorPablo
Posted 10/28/2015 6:04 PM (#608765 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!



Elite Expert

Joined: 3/17/2005

Posts: 5969
50005001001001001002525

Points: 9534
50002000200050025
Feedback Rating: 34
Location: Maryland

Badges:
Glad we were able to work it out.

-Paul
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Alle82
Posted 5/12/2016 12:42 AM (#669500 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!


Member

Joined: 6/28/2015

Posts: 8


Points: 23

Feedback Rating: 0


I have used the app on my iphone to put in all my humidors and i would like to sync with the web page here.

So i dont do the same misstake as before and delete everything.

But when i go in to my humidor on the app and press Sync it has been syncing for hours and nothing happens.

Am i doing it wrong?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
MacMac
Posted 5/12/2016 3:38 AM (#669501 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!



Expert

Joined: 2/20/2015

Posts: 2023
2000

Points: 3748
2000100050010010025
Feedback Rating: 23
Location: Lake Gaston, VA

Badges:
On the sync page under Synchronization Method: There are two choices: Differential and Full. Try the "Full" setting. This helps me when the iPad and the website have differences.
Joe
Top of the page Bottom of the page
SenorPablo
Posted 5/12/2016 4:11 AM (#669504 - in reply to #669500)
Subject: Re: Help!



Elite Expert

Joined: 3/17/2005

Posts: 5969
50005001001001001002525

Points: 9534
50002000200050025
Feedback Rating: 34
Location: Maryland

Badges:
Alle82 - 5/12/2016 4:42 AM

I have used the app on my iphone to put in all my humidors and i would like to sync with the web page here.

So i dont do the same misstake as before and delete everything.

But when i go in to my humidor on the app and press Sync it has been syncing for hours and nothing happens.

Am i doing it wrong?


It sounds like it may have lost connectivity in the middle. Try it again and see what happens. Also, a reported issue is that some of the date format settings on the iPhone can cause issues with the sync. If you are using a non-US based date format, try changing it to US format.

-Paul
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Alle82
Posted 5/12/2016 6:54 AM (#669510 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!


Member

Joined: 6/28/2015

Posts: 8


Points: 23

Feedback Rating: 0


Thanks for all the advices, gonna try and change to US format. Hope it works, its a great app!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Alle82
Posted 5/12/2016 7:04 AM (#669511 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!


Member

Joined: 6/28/2015

Posts: 8


Points: 23

Feedback Rating: 0


I tried it now after i had changed the time to Us format, it takes like 20 seconds.

But nothing comes up here on the web page.

I tried both options.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Alle82
Posted 5/12/2016 10:02 AM (#669519 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!


Member

Joined: 6/28/2015

Posts: 8


Points: 23

Feedback Rating: 0


I also had problem with the cigar database update but after i changed to Us Format there was no problem anymore!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
SenorPablo
Posted 5/12/2016 11:28 AM (#669528 - in reply to #669511)
Subject: Re: Help!



Elite Expert

Joined: 3/17/2005

Posts: 5969
50005001001001001002525

Points: 9534
50002000200050025
Feedback Rating: 34
Location: Maryland

Badges:
Alle82 - 5/12/2016 11:04 AM

I tried it now after i had changed the time to Us format, it takes like 20 seconds.

But nothing comes up here on the web page.

I tried both options.


Did you try it with the "Full" option as opposed to the default "Differential" method?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Alle82
Posted 5/12/2016 11:39 AM (#669531 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!


Member

Joined: 6/28/2015

Posts: 8


Points: 23

Feedback Rating: 0


Yes i tried it with the full, the Diffrental doesnt work. It stops at "Checking for new entries".

But when i take full it works immediatly! But nothin happens in the "my humidor".

Edited by Alle82 5/12/2016 11:39 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Alle82
Posted 5/12/2016 11:51 AM (#669533 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!


Member

Joined: 6/28/2015

Posts: 8


Points: 23

Feedback Rating: 0


I just tried to make a new humidor here on the page and that work and when i push the update and choose full it pops on my Iphone app with the cigars i had put in there.

But the others wont work.

Do you need to do it on the web for it to work?

I even tried to "smoke one" on the phone and then tried to sync after that but that didnt work. It is still in my humidor here on the site but smoked on my phone.


Sorry for spamming, just trying to give all info i can get.

Edited by Alle82 5/12/2016 11:58 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
SenorPablo
Posted 5/12/2016 5:44 PM (#669577 - in reply to #608504)
Subject: Re: Help!



Elite Expert

Joined: 3/17/2005

Posts: 5969
50005001001001001002525

Points: 9534
50002000200050025
Feedback Rating: 34
Location: Maryland

Badges:
Let me send you a PM.

-Paul
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread


(Delete all cookies set by this site)

Connect with us:             Del.icio.us

Home  |  Contact Us  |  Advertise  |  Cigar Passes  |  Cigar Database  |  Virtual Humidor  |  Forums 

Copyright © 2007-2018 Cigar Geeks, Inc. All rights reserved.    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service