Whyntermute Update at 10 Months

Started by c9belayer, 11/30/2016 06:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

c9belayer

I've been using my modified Whynter cigar cooler for 10 months now and still love it. What follows is an über-geek update in excruciating detail, because, why not?

BACKGROUND

For humidity, I use 1/2 lb. of Heartfelt's 65% beads in their mesh bag at the bottom of the cabinet, and a 7"x9" sheet of the 65% stuff on the top shelf. I open the door once a day, sometimes twice if I'm doting on my babies. I live in San Jose, CA where the average annual temperature is around 60-65ºF and the average humidity is somewhere around 50-60%. I use 3 electronic tag sensors to monitor humidity, one each in the first, middle, and last trays; they are in different parts of the trays, too, to mix it up. The computer fans, top and bottom, come on 4 times a day for 2 hours each time. Humidity levels are, on average: Top ~ 66-67%, Middle ~ 69-70%, Bottom ~ 66-67%.

HUMIDITY ISSUE

So I learned a couple of bone-head things about humdification's role in the evaporation and condensation of water in a semi-closed system. First, the Peltier cooling unit generates condensation; i.e. liquid water. By design, the cabinet routes this condensate through a hole in the rear wall, to a nipple on the outside of the unit, where it drips into a little reservoir on the back of the unit. Presumably, this water evaporates into the surrounding environment over time. I have found this small, innocuous condensate exit nipple KEY to the smooth operation of the unit. 

If you plug that hole, moisture runs down the inside of the unit and puddles on the cabinet floor. Condensation outpaces evaporation just enough so that in a year's time, I probably had ~1/2-1/3 cup of free-standing water in my cabinet, a thoroughly waterlogged cedar grate, and a cigar box that was soaking wet on the bottom! (The cigars inside were dry -- I'm a lucky, lucky boy.)