Humidor Mold

Started by BrockDB, 10/08/2017 10:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BrockDB

Need some opinions from the experts.

I have been running a wineador for a few months now, so I have not been using my desktop humidor at all.  I recently wanted to use it again so I wanted to do a quick reseasoning.  After about 5 days of going through the process, I was letting it come down from the high humidity and just happen to notice that I had mold on the inside lid of it.  Has anyone ever experienced this before? 

https://imgur.com/GbuUnQD 

https://imgur.com/Su6rFL4

I found an article on Cigar Advisor talking about how to fix this issue.  

https://www.famous-smoke.com/cigaradvisor/how-to-remove-mold-from-your-humidor

The article is pretty straight-forward and seems logical.  I guess my concern is the fact that it mentions Isopropyl alcohol.  Don't get me wrong, I get the fact that the use of the alcohol is needed to kill the mold itself, but I worry about the long term affects to the cedar. 

Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance

- Brock

"Some people meditate; I smoke cigars..." - Ron Perlman

SKOL VIKINGS!

ninfiction

Ive also heard that Isopropyl alcohol is the way to go. You don't want to soak the wood and you want to leave the humidor open. I've never done this myself, just read about it in a few different spots.

I've seen at least one case where the mold actually got in between the cedar liner and the wood that is used as the outside of the humidor. I think you'll really want to dry it out and use the alcohol to kill the mold.
This is not the admin you're looking for...

BrockDB

Right now it seems to be only around the glass top. Of course I can't see behind the the cedar inside it.
- Brock

SKOL VIKINGS!

ninfiction

QuoteBrockDB - 10/8/2017  12:38 PM

Right now it seems to be only around the glass top. Of course I can't see behind the the cedar inside it.