Am I Missing Something?

Started by Chefjohn, 01/02/2019 06:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chefjohn

Hey guys. I hope everyone had a good New Years. I have a question for the group. Over the weekend I has a Drew Estate Liga Privada 9 Robusto. I had purchased a couple based on glowing reviews from various review sites ( which I don't put a lot of stock in) and a couple of groups I belong to whose membership is made up of regular everyday cigar enthusiasts (whose opinions I do have faith in). I didn't find the stick to be all that. I didn't get a lot of flavor complexity. I know I'm fairly new to this and my palate may not be that developed yet and I don't want to bash this stick. Has anyone else had a similar experience with this cigar or do you think it's just my lack of experience?
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.

Beegerply

No I don't think its your palate, I like you found it to be a bit on the bland side myself. However I do like the T 52 much better smoke IMO. :biggrin:
Byron

Guru of small balls and big sticks
--------------------------------------------------

"If there are no cigars in heaven I shall not go" Mark Twain

Chefjohn

Thanks Byron. I know that taste is very subjective. I also wonder if perhaps I was influenced beforehand by both it's price and all the glowing reviews for it and feeling a bit let down when it didn't live up to what I thought it would be.

DonM

Ratings and reviews on any cigar are subject to the persons personal tastes, John.  While I like the #9 and smoke them on occasion,  it just may not be enjoyable to you and your palate.  If the #9 is a miss for you, there are hundreds of other cigars out there that may be more enjoyable to you.  As an example, I have a friend that ONLY smokes Macanudo Gold label cigars.  He will not smoke anything else, period.  I will rarely smoke a CT.

"The Curmudgeon"

Chefjohn

QuoteDonM - 1/2/2019  8:44 AM