Cigar burn question

Started by MurphMan7700, 04/15/2021 12:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MurphMan7700

Hello everyone. Once in a while I have a cigar that the cherry turns to an almost charcoal condition. I have two tupperdores and a 400 count temp controlled humidor. 65 RH Boveda packs for humidity. It is not with one particular brand or blend. Is this an issue of smoking to fast, improper lighting, ??. Any input would help, thank you.

gitfiddl

I've had that happen several times over the years, once in the last week or so.  I've never put much thought into it.  I'm no scientist, but I think it might have as much to do with the smoking environment as it does the storage condition.  I've always just knocked the ash off and continued smoking, relighting if necessary.

Self-appointed Guru of Pass Container Sizing,  All Things Midgetly Stripperish, and general "Stirrer of the Puddin'".

MurphMan7700

That is what I have done Aldo. Sometimes having to cut off the end and relight also.

ninfiction

It could be due to a plug (tobacco is rolled too tight), does the draw seem to be tight before you get to that point?

Similar to David I just knock it off and carry on. Being handmade there are times where you'll find inconsistent construction, unless I smoke multiple of the same cigar and always encounter issues I don't worry too much about it.

If I feel a cigar is plugged I use a Perfect Draw tool to open it up.
This is not the admin you're looking for...

gitfiddl

I don't recall any real problems until the ash sort of "crystalized"
Self-appointed Guru of Pass Container Sizing,  All Things Midgetly Stripperish, and general "Stirrer of the Puddin'".

MrMoke

I am with @gitfiddl in that it could be environment related.  Have you considered it may be a result of high relative humidity?
"The older I get the more I realize I cannot please everyone.  However, pissing everyone off is a breeze."

Adwinistrator