Got a question about Mold!!

Started by yborbornnraised, 05/04/2021 08:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

yborbornnraised

Hey guys, I have been purchasing from an ABC, they are a local alcohol and tobacco retail chain in my area.

I have been buying cigars there for a couple of months when recently i purchased a Romeo Y Juliet in the Tube. Once i got it home, i notice a lot of mold. I brought it back to the store to get an exchange and noticed every other Tube i opened had mold, and some of the neighboring sticks in other boxes were collecting mold... only the Romeo Y julieta were getting affected. When i checked, they had 2 hygrometers, one saying 74% by the door, and the one in the back saying 68%. The employee said he would put in an order for repair.

But my question and concerns are, should i keep buying out of that humidor? or avoid them until they treat the area? How long does it take to secure a walk in humidor once mold is found?

IM really bummed to, because the only other place i can get a decent sticks at a normal price IS MOVING and closed down the spot near me! They are not opening the new shop until after may...

I know there are tons of online reputable sources and i def use them! I still love walking into a humidor and just browsing with my eyes instead of clicking with my fingers!

thanks guys!
"If you can't send money, send tobacco." GW.

headfirst

If it were me and I like the shop and they seem genuinely concerned about correcting the issue I might just inspect closely for mold before I buy and keep it in a separate small humi from the rest of my collection.  It might be that the sticks you were looking at were closer to the humidity source?  Mold does go airborne though so maybe others that visit B&Ms more than I do (CA taxes are pretty steep so it's rare that I visit one) may tell you different.  Curious to hear from nirab who actually runs a B&M what his thoughts are...